an Irresistible “About” Page

Today’s assignment: create and publish your About page, then either adapt it into a widget on your home page or add it to your menu. funny_quotes_life_3

My original “plan” was to write about a variety of subjects related to life and feel better doing it. Then I came across Blogging 101. So this is what you get today.  Learning is a big part of life so that is what I find myself writing about.  You can never be too old to learn.  You just need a desire.  Now that I think about it, a desire is all you need to accomplish a lot in life.  See, I just learned even more and I wasn’t even trying.

Spring of 2013 I woke up from a long bout of depression.  Since that time, I have become more aware of things. I may have mentioned somewhere that I may have some OCD like traits.  Well some of those traits are showing up while taking this course. The first part of the assignment was create and publish your About page.  I did that last month. I did it before I knew Blogging 101 even existed. I really didn’t want to write another or even tweak the one I had, so what do I do?  I must create and publish! It is part of the assignment.  I must create and publish! It is part of the assignment.  How about I create a blog about the day 6 assignment.  I can write about writing an about me page.  I actually had half this blog written when I realized that was what I was doing.

Okay, where does one begin?  I know. I shall try the beginning.  The very first thing I was able to push publish on was something called  A Bit About Me. I spent a lot of time working on this “about me”.  I wrote and published it long before I knew I would be taking blogging 101.  I wrote a bit, walked away, wrote a bit, walked away, then shared it with hubby and a few Internet friends. I got much feedback from all who got to read the original.  I received a great hug from hubby after he read it.  Internet friends said……..I am honored you shared! You seem so familiar. Like I’ve always known you……..I believe you have a gift with writing……..You did deserve a “wicked” cool hug for this!!!……..I bet it is very therapeutic to write out your story and feelings for others to read…….. I then rewrote it again and added my therapist and “replacement therapist” to the list of people who got to read it.  I got more positive feedback.  Hubby gave me a tighter, longer hug, my Internet friends said…….. I love your pup! He looks like quite the character!!!!        Your honesty and frankness can help others        You have a great writing style        you should find more people who can empathize and learn from your experiences……..I got gutsy and published the “about me”. I think it stayed online for about 2 hours. Then the 2 therapists said……..You are an Interesting woman……..You can definitely reach others with your writing……..your talent with venting might be beneficial to not only you……..They actually read something else I wrote as well which got me to thinking about venting as a valuable tool.  So I published the “about me” again and it stayed. Longer this time. It even got published twice.  Well maybe 3 times, as I have another blog under another title which may not remain as anonymous as this one.  

I should get back to the rest of the assignment which was either adapt it into a widget on your home page or add it to your menu.  I know what a widget is, so I figure I am half way home.  Sometimes I really crack myself up with my child like innocence.  I knew nothing about them.   I was suppose to use a text widget to write a brief description of my about me post and that widget will link back to the post.  Easy I can do that.  It was so easy I had to walk away and come back to it I was making myself so crazy with it.  When I returned I figured it all out.  It was as simple as reading this sentence, “You can also add a link to the full page at the end of your short description with some simple HTML.”  All of my confusion was instantly wiped away.  Well most of it anyway. I did not adapt it into a widget on my home page.  I am not sure I can do that with the theme I have actually been able to keep for 2 days.  But I did adapt it into a widget.  I think I added it to my menu.

links and widgets

this is me learning about links and widgets

So I may or may not have completed the assignment for Day 6.  I did play with my blog and I laughed a few times while doing it. So that is good.  I learned about links and if you click on that funny looking thing in the upper right hand corner, you will see that I did in fact adapt my about me page into a widget. I think. I hope that when I am done with Blogging 101, I will actually know what that means.

7 thoughts on “an Irresistible “About” Page

  1. I think Blogging 101 would have been a great way to get started blogging! Wish I would have know about it a couple of years ago. But I fumbled my way through . . . I like the idea of venting your way through things–and interspersing a bit of humor is awesome–that’s sort of how I operate. I think you’ll have a terrific blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thanks for feedback. I did a search for “funny life pics”. I found that pic at bing.com/images they had so many good ones, I had trouble deciding which one to use.

      Like

would wicked love hearin' from ya !!!!

