Household task? wicked funny question.

What’s the household task you most dislike doing? Why do you think that is — is it the task itself, or something more.

This is such an easy question for me to answer.  All of Them.

Growing up the bathroom was my responsibility.  Yes, we had responsibilities when I grew up.  Every week the bathroom was to have a thorough cleaning by me.  Top to bottom and everything in between was to sparkle.  If my Mother had to ask me to do it, she only had to ask once.

My room on the other hand was a mess.  I just couldn’t keep it clean.  I lived in total clutter.   The beginning scenes of the original Odd Couple always reminded me of my room.  Oscar’s room was my room.  At some point my Mom gave up on me keeping in clean. It was an impossible feat.

Once a year, my room would be neat. I mean immaculate neat. One bedroom was small, one was big. So to keep it fair we swapped rooms every year.  I would spend 1-2 days going through my old room.  Sorting, finding, throwing, a years worth of stuff.  Every thing would have its place in the new room.  I would love the way the new room felt.  Eventually it slowly turned back into the old room.  I liked this too.  It felt comfortable.

Eventually I grew up.  I was responsible to keep my places clean and neat as I had roommates. I did the minimum.  My private room was my place.  It never got as bad as it did when I was a kid, but it was forever far from neat.

Today, my kitchen is clean.  The laundry gets done often. The rest of the place gets cleaned when I notice it getting dirty.  Chores are too much of a chore.  Dust bunnies must be present before I sweep. Sometimes I can not see the dirtiness.  Luckily my husband is around to notice when things might be growing in the dust.  At least he can find a bit of humor in my severe lack of motivation.

I do have a goal.  Make a list of chores that need to be done and cross them off slowly one at a time.  Eventually it will all get done and I can start all over again.

9 thoughts on “Household task? wicked funny question.

  1. Pingback: Not Doing Dishes causes Brains to Explode and Marriages to Implode. | Destino

  2. The bathroom, hands down. I am short, so reaching to clean things on slippery surfaces leaves a high probably of serious injury. And chemical fumes give me migraines. Of course, it would be logical for my 6’4″ husband who has no sense of smell to do the bathroom, but he doesn’t see dirt at the molecular level like I do. I’m screwed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

would wicked love hearin' from ya !!!!

