Me? Brief? wicked funny !!!!

Day Five: Be Brief

Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.cliffside_view_by_phaedris-d47qc2q

As walked my regular route along the seaside cliff, I noticed something that did belong. It was tucked underneath the big rock up ahead. I could just make out the corner of what appeared to be a piece of yellow construction paper.  Being the ever curious bloke I tend to be I had to take a look.  Moving the rock took all my effort, but I did it.

I wondered how on earth did this paper end up here?  When I opened it up and saw the purple writing I knew.  It had just one word on it.  GOOD-BYE

A million questions rose in my mind when reading that one word. Did someone use my sacred place to end their life? Who could have put it here?  Where are they now? Do I dare even look over the cliff? Do I put the note back and keep walking? What could be that horrible to make someone end their life? I wonder who the note was for?  No one ever comes here but me. Is it real or someone’s idea of a sick joke? I chuckled as I thought, If I still believed in communication from the after life, I might think it was a message from the other side. Again I go back to who? If I had a phone I could call the police.  They probably wouldn’t be interested anyway.  I put the note in my pocket and kept walking. Still with so many thoughts, questions, and feelings.

The next day the body of an older adult male washed up on shore.

14 thoughts on “Me? Brief? wicked funny !!!!

    • It is probably the closest thing to fiction I have ever written. especially when I write, “I chuckled as I thought, If I still believed in communication from the after life,”. I still so believe in communication. I just need to start listening again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I think this is brilliant. At first I thought it might be a love note, but only to contain one word, which could mean so many things, was an excellent twist. While the ending may have been one of the possible scenario’s, it still came as a surprise. Good job 🙂

    Like

would wicked love hearin' from ya !!!!

