Commit to writng Prctice????

Today’s Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

The prompt states “most important songs in your life”  Not most important today. That meant I could pick any song from any point in my lifetime.  Ed Sheeran who sings the most important song in my life right now popped in my head immediately. He stayed there. This little light of mine popped in and then right out again.  It was replaced with The Byrds Mr. Spaceman. Journey was a  favorite band in high school so I thought one of their songs might make the grade.  They did not and I went with The Eagles and Hotel California.

There were rules that went along with this prompt.  Something about writing for 15 minutes and also some really helpful recommendations.  I think I am going to ignore the 15 minute rule and go with all the recommendations.  I will listen to each song, one at a time.  Then I will write.  Whatever comes out comes out.  No censors around here.

Ed Sheeran thinking out loud  

The first few times I heard this song, I confused the artist with Sam Smith.  They both had the most incredible, smooth, moving voices.  But this song by Ed Sheeran was more meaningful to me than Stay by Sam Smith. It makes me think, feel, and want to sing out loud. This song by Sheeran reminds me of falling in love with my husband.  I was not looking for love at that time, “It just happened”. Now years later I can look back and see how it may have been part of a plan, just like Sheeran sings about. “People fall in love in Mysterious ways” yes I so understand that.  Everything Sheeran sings in this song makes so much sense to me.  He sings about being in love, staying in love, and growing old with that person. Despite mistakes we make along the way, we stay together.

The Byrds Mr Spaceman   

I loved this song from the first time I heard it.  It was the 80’s and I was in high school. I was always a bit different so having a favorite song from 1960whatever was appropriate. It was always a fun song for me to sing along with…. “hey Mr Spaceman wont you please take me along I wont do anything wrong Hey Mr Spaceman wont you please take me along for a ride”. I was very lost during the time I first heard this song. I listened to it whenever I had the opportunity. Which was a lot. For some reason I found  comfort in it.  It helped me believe that there were other options out there besides my reality.  Even if they were far from real. It kept me going when nothing else could. Listening to this song today I find I still know every word. I just noticed that this song is 1 year older than I am.  Now that I am listening to the Byrds again after all these years, I am realizing that every one of their songs meant much to me when I was in that dark place. Mr. Spaceman was just the most fun out of all of them and I needed fun.

The Eagles Hotel California   

I was around 9 when this song first came out.  It was pretty popular even when I first really got familiar with it in my teens.  It may have been the 1st song ever that I could sing along to.  Like The Byrds, this song took me away.  I needed to get away and it brought me to a different place and time.  I could easily lose myself in the words and music.  It reminded me of finding a place that might or might not be a good place.  It all depends on how you look at it.  Even though you think you may have found heaven, there could be surprises in store for you.

Now that I have written about 3 of my most favorite songs, I want to keep going.  I want to write about #4, and 5 and 6 and 7.  Can’t forget #8.  I never realized how much I got out of music until I stared writing about it.  Bring it on Kansas and Carry on my Wayward son.  I am ready for you.

11 thoughts on “Commit to writng Prctice????

    • This is too funny (I laugh with you) I learned that in Blogging 101. One of the first things I learned. If it is youtube video it is so simple you will cry. copy the link of the video you want add just the bracket to the end. If you still don’t get it as I wouldn’t with these directions LOL I can copy the exact directions from blogging 101 for you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • If you still have your emails from blogging 101, it was in day 4 getting to know your audience. It had instructions on how to do all sorts of things. I only figured out the embedding a video one.
        you take the video URL add brackets to the beginning and end [ ] after the first bracket write youtube = without the spaces. [you tube = url which you can copy and paste ] NO SPACES try it and let me know how poorly I explained it.

        Liked by 1 person

would wicked love hearin' from ya !!!!

